My answer to why filmmaking is useful

I am receiving a degree in Communication Media Management with a focus on filmmaking. I have over two years of filmmaking-training, and have produced around a dozen short films, both personally and professionally. I hope to eventually combine my interest with economics with my interest in filmmaking. For me, filmmaking is one of the many ways I use to communicate both ideas and emotions. It is a very powerful form of communication. I believe that economic ideas can be presented well with film. The theory side can obviously presented well, but also some of the underlying questions and assumptions that give rise to economic theories can be explored through the film medium because it is a medium that captures emotions well and can bring the issue of world-view to the forefront of people’s thoughts. Film can jostle people into considering new methods of looking at the world. Misconceptions can be burnt away, and positive ideas can be explored. Economics needs this resurgence.

Leave a comment